Playing with Paper and Paste

Standard

Today, everywhere I looked online I kept seeing decoupaged furniture. Which is great, since I love to decoupage furniture and just about anything else I can think of.

Years ago, my sister gave me some beautiful vintage-inspired drawer liner paper. What’s funny is that she gave it to me not for lining drawers but to use in one of my future projects. So, I found this dresser at one of my favorite thrift shops and decided to decoupage it using that rose-covered paper. I matched the paint color to the background shade of the paper, which turned out to be a really good thing, since I ran short of paper after covering the drawer fronts and sides and ended up cutting out individual roses and scattering them across the top. All in all, I think it turned out better than I expected.

decoupage dresser

If you like to play with paper and paste and want to try your hand at decoupaging furniture, here are some inspiration pieces with links to their sites:

another decoupaged dresser

 This dresser uses complementary wallpaper to give it a fresh look.

 music dresser

This dresser combines a distressed finish with sheet music.

decoupaged stools

                                     Decoupaged furniture doesn’t have to be reserved for dressers…                                                             love these stools and the use of vintage labels.

When it comes to decoupage furniture, the materials are endless….maps, old letters, postcards, doilies, wrapping paper, tissue paper, labels, pictures from magazines, book pages, flash cards, playing cards, tarot cards – the list just goes on and on. The most important thing is to have fun!

Leave a Reply

